top of page

Foods that I eliminate from my diet:

Nothing.

"Eliminate" is a trigger word for me. Anyone who has spent a day with me can testify that I treat myself to Taco Bell or ice cream every now and again. Many times I have patients/clients ask me.. what should I be eating? What should I cut out of my diet?

Answer to Question 1: Incorporate whole grains, fruits, and vegetables into your everyday meal planning.

Answer to Question 2: Nothing.

When we deprive ourselves of a certain food, it creates an unhealthy relationship/stigma with all foods.

"I can't have bread or pizza because it has carbs and that's bad." Or.. "I'm going to have a burger Friday because I know I'm going to run 3 miles to earn it."

Earning food? We aren't dogs earning treats people. Exercise daily because it's beneficial to your body.. not because you want to "earn" something.

Truth:

I don't deprive myself of any foods that life has to offer, I just don't obsess over them. Yes, I eat lean protein, grains, and a vegetables for most meals (shoutout Plate Method).. but that is part of my lifestyle. I feel at my best when I follow this eating pattern, but I'm human. I have cravings from time to time.

Some days there are pizza parties at work, or cookies waiting for me at home. Do I refrain from these "temptations?" Heck no, I'm not a regular dietitian.. I'm a cool dietitian. The key here is I don't let myself sit in front of the pizza box and challenge myself to eat 6 slices until I cannot move. Moderation.

Pizza and chocolate were meant to be enjoyed, but high-fat and high-sugar foods can cause serious damage to our health if we abuse them.

A lot of clients/patients use the 80/20 rule (eating healthy 80% of the time and 20% of indulgence). Personally, the thought of mentally keeping track of a percentage really stresses me out. But, if this is the visual that makes you feel good- go for it.

Another "method" of moderation I hear all the time is depriving yourself of your favorite foods all week.. and then gorge on the weekend. Does this make sense? We can't have a slice of pizza and salad on a Wednesday but we can have a whole pizza box with cheesy bread since its Saturday? Hmm.

Make healthy eating a part of your lifestyle, meaning the foundation of your energy comes from wholesome foods. Aim to add a vegetable to every meal. Eat the majority of meals at home, cooked yourself (if you need guidance for that, just ask). Get moving no matter what day of the week it is. Enjoy ice cream every once in a while.. and just because you want to. Not because you "earned it" or "deserve" to.

Life your best life.. because you have definitely earned that.

Morgan Mendenhall, RDN/LD.

bottom of page